Project Duel Academy
Please Join or Login!


Role Play Academy concerning a project to improve duelists.
 
HomeGallerySearchRegisterLog in

Share
 

 Lesson 16: On the Field?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage

Project Lead Scientist

Founder

Posts : 1164
Reputation : 25
Join date : 2011-09-04

Character Sheet
Name:
HP:
Lesson 16: On the Field? Left_bar_bleue100/100Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty_bar_bleue  (100/100)
Age:

Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty
PostSubject: Lesson 16: On the Field?   Lesson 16: On the Field? EmptyTue Oct 15, 2013 9:46 am

What's the Field?

The field is actually quite simple. It's the complete area engulfing the Monster Zones and Spell/Trap Card Zones of both players. Those are considered the field. The places that aren't considered the field are the Graveyard, a players Hand, the [Extra] Deck and the Banished Pile.

What does that matter?

This actually matters a great deal. Maybe you may think it's useless to the game, but there are a great deal of effects that refer to the field, or your side of the field, or your opponents side of the field, and then it might be handy to know what that actually means.

Examples of effects that effect the field are Field Spell Cards [Can't tell what gave it away]. Let's take an example.

Lemuria, the Forgotten City:
 

This Field Spell Card has a few effects. Let's analyze it a bit. The first part.


Lemuria, the Forgotten City wrote:
This card's name is treated as "Umi".


This is something that doesn't affect the field, but only the card itself. So no need to worry about that, unless your effects are based upon Umi.


Lemuria, the Forgotten City wrote:
All WATER monsters gain 200 ATK and DEF.


This affects all of the field. So, this means it affects all WATER Monsters in your opponents Monster Card Zones and your own Monster Card Zones, as long as those Monsters are face-up.


Lemuria, the Forgotten City wrote:
Once per turn, during your Main Phase: You can have all WATER monsters you currently control gain Levels equal to the number of WATER monsters you currently control, until the End Phase.


This part of the effect is only usable to the controller of the card. Same with Field Spells like Dragon Ravine. It's a Spell Speed 1 Ignition effect.


Only Field Spells then?

No. Not only Field Spells affect the field. There are monsters that do the same. But rather then that, there are also monsters that refer to the field in a different way. Best example of these are Shooting Star Dragon and Elemental HERO Absolute Zero. The part that matters in this, is "When this card leaves the field:". With such cards it's imperative you know what the field is. Since when you think the field is the whole deal, including Monsters Zones, S/T Zones, Graveyard, Deck and such, then things get problematic real easily.

It's important you know what these things are, and therefore also the rulings attached to it. What also is an important thing, is the Xyz Materials. At the beginning of the Exceed Era, there were a lot of questions regarding this. Most commonly what wasn't known, and still is being done wrong, was the part where people thought Sangan would activate if detached as Xyz Material. Despite the fact it lies, technically seen, in a Monster Card Zone, Xyz MAterials are not considered to be on the field. They're in what you could call a limbo. Nowhere in the game, just entirely gone. They're part of the Xyz Monster, yet not on the field. Konami wasn't very clear with this, and still isn't, but we try to make from it what we can.

So, now a question lingers. What if effect Monsters like Absolute Zero are used as Xyz Materials? Will they activate? Unfortunately, they won't. Not when the Xyz Summon is done, and not when they're Detached. In neither case, will they activate. This is also the case with Reborn Tengu, what many people thought would activate, yet again won't.


Now, with all this information, I'm sure you have a bit of insight now on what the "field" is and why it matters. For the task, I'll have a simple one. Name 5 to 10 situations where cards are affecting the field, on/off the field, activate on/off field, resolve on/off field and affect the field while not on it and perform them in a duel. [Screenshot required for each one]

20 OD for each. Keep diversity, otherwise it's too simple.


well, good luck.

Sylveraine.
Back to top Go down
https://projectduelforums.forumotion.com

Fluff Fluff

Zed

Posts : 4045
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2013-10-07
Age : 26
Location : Mist Valley

Character Sheet
Name: Fluff
HP:
Lesson 16: On the Field? Left_bar_bleue0/0Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty_bar_bleue  (0/0)
Age: 20

Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Lesson 16: On the Field?   Lesson 16: On the Field? EmptyTue Oct 15, 2013 5:12 pm

Card affecting the field: Our own seal of orichalcos. https://i.imgur.com/5jSHLDG.jpg

Cards activating on the field: Manju of the ten thousand hands. This is also an example of a card being on the field https://i.imgur.com/uC0A2rK.jpg

Cards activating off the field: Mezuki. This also counts as being off the field (whether in grave before it's effect or banished after it's effect) https://i.imgur.com/NGfBX1k.jpg

Resolving on the field: Chaos Sorcerer. Activates and finishes it's effect on the field. A good way to tell if something resolves on the field is if at the end of it's effect it's still on the field. https://i.imgur.com/gQ4CaNo.jpg

Resolving off the field: Rescue Rabbit. A lot of people don't realize that things like skill drain/veiler don't stop this card. At the end of it's effect, it's banished. Thus, it's effect resolves off the field. https://i.imgur.com/KGLvu6z.png

Affecting the field while not on it: Battlin' Boxer Counterpunch. By banishing this card from your hand/grave you can increase the attack of one of your boxers on the field by 1000. It doesn't have to be on the field to use it's effect or affect anything, it simply has to be in your hand or grave. By increasing the attack of your chosen battlin' boxer, it affects the field. https://i.imgur.com/bihs83X.png
Back to top Go down

Amaterasu

Moderator

Posts : 4394
Reputation : 13
Join date : 2013-08-31
Location : Hokage Mansion

Character Sheet
Name:
HP:
Lesson 16: On the Field? Left_bar_bleue100/100Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty_bar_bleue  (100/100)
Age:

Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Lesson 16: On the Field?   Lesson 16: On the Field? EmptyTue Oct 15, 2013 7:12 pm

Good assignment, but one thing:

"A lot of people don't realize that things like skill drain/veiler don't stop this card"

Although skill drain doesn't stop Rabbit since it can remove itself from field and then continue with its effect. This is because its not on the field. But Veiler on the other hand will work on Rabbit and stop its effect. It can go two ways. If you activate veiler in response to rabbit effect then veiler will fail. Since its banished as cost. On the other hand if you activate veiler as a response to summon then it will work, and Rabbit will be negated. You can chose to banish rabbit anyway but its effect will not resolve( Banishing anyway is a good idea since you can revive with tour guide and leviar).


Lesson 16: On the Field? Itachi_signature_by_rainofraijin-d5r3x3r

-Knowledge and awareness are vague, and perhaps better called illusions. Everyone lives within their own subjective interpretation-
Back to top Go down

Fluff Fluff

Zed

Posts : 4045
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2013-10-07
Age : 26
Location : Mist Valley

Character Sheet
Name: Fluff
HP:
Lesson 16: On the Field? Left_bar_bleue0/0Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty_bar_bleue  (0/0)
Age: 20

Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Lesson 16: On the Field?   Lesson 16: On the Field? EmptyTue Oct 15, 2013 7:28 pm

I always thought veiler wouldn't work either. I never use rescue rabbit, you can tell from my lack of experience, lol. At least if they try to chain in response I know it won't work. Thanks for the info :3
Back to top Go down

Amaterasu

Moderator

Posts : 4394
Reputation : 13
Join date : 2013-08-31
Location : Hokage Mansion

Character Sheet
Name:
HP:
Lesson 16: On the Field? Left_bar_bleue100/100Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty_bar_bleue  (100/100)
Age:

Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Lesson 16: On the Field?   Lesson 16: On the Field? EmptyTue Oct 15, 2013 7:59 pm

No problem. Not many people know this to be fair. Just something to know, always use veiler as soon as they summon and not wait for them to banish or say "eff".


Lesson 16: On the Field? Itachi_signature_by_rainofraijin-d5r3x3r

-Knowledge and awareness are vague, and perhaps better called illusions. Everyone lives within their own subjective interpretation-
Back to top Go down

jef12345

Guest

Posts : 1
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-10-15
Age : 20

Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Lesson 16: On the Field?   Lesson 16: On the Field? EmptyTue Oct 15, 2013 9:10 pm

Card effecting the field: it's the field spell card "gaia power".
https://i.imgur.com/nwBJqWB.jpg

Cards activating on the field: goblindbergh.
https://i.imgur.com/g44UoE8.png

Cards activating off the field: maxx "C". this card count off the field becuase it's sent from the hand to grave.
https://i.imgur.com/nJ91hH6.png

Resolving on the field: gagaga cowboy. it's eff activate in the field and finish on it.
https://i.imgur.com/6OlOQPP.png

Resolving off the field: veiler. it's activate in hand and finish in the grave.
https://i.imgur.com/geNxsX8.png


effecting the field while not on it: pyramic turtle. it's activate in the grave and effecting the field while it's in the grave.
https://i.imgur.com/j93Opmu.png

Back to top Go down

galaxystorm7

Lucian

Posts : 18
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-09-11
Location : u figure it out

Character Sheet
Name: Galaxy Red Dragon Tamer
HP:
Lesson 16: On the Field? Left_bar_bleue150/150Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty_bar_bleue  (150/150)
Age: why do u care

Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Lesson 16: On the Field?   Lesson 16: On the Field? EmptyFri Oct 18, 2013 10:47 pm

https://i.imgur.com/M7bYNse.jpg
gladiator beasts effects only work as long as they are on field the same goes for most inzektor effects


"Rend the obsidian darkness! Scorch Heaven and Earth! Isolated, absolute king!! Synchro Summon!! Jeweled Red Dragon Archfiend!!"

Lesson 16: On the Field? C7ykgnX
Back to top Go down

Project Lead Scientist

Founder

Posts : 1164
Reputation : 25
Join date : 2011-09-04

Character Sheet
Name:
HP:
Lesson 16: On the Field? Left_bar_bleue100/100Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty_bar_bleue  (100/100)
Age:

Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Lesson 16: On the Field?   Lesson 16: On the Field? EmptySun Oct 20, 2013 2:05 pm

Points awarded and Lesson closed.
Back to top Go down
https://projectduelforums.forumotion.com
Sponsored content



Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Lesson 16: On the Field?   Lesson 16: On the Field? Empty

Back to top Go down
 

Lesson 16: On the Field?

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Project Duel Academy :: General and Misc :: Miscellaneous Archive :: Off Topic-